Mt Washington Hill Climb

The Comox Valley Cycle Club race season for 2015 finished with its annual climb up Mt Washington on August 9. The weather cooperated nicely with some cloud cover and cooler temperatures for the 24 riders that came out to test themselves against the clock and the road. The race began with a one kilometer neutral roll up to the lower parking lot with all riders together. As the pace car accelerated away across Duncan Bay Main logging road, the timers started their watches and the group quickly broke apart on their way to the top parking lot.
In the A group it started out a two man race between local pro Nigel Ellsay of Silber Pro Cycling and Vancouverite Travis Streb from the Glotman Simpson team. In the end Nigel won the day setting a new course record of 45 minutes and 45 seconds. Travis finished 2 minutes later in 47:47 followed by another out of towner Anthony Bergson in 55:43. Club members took the next 4 spots and Dan Wilson, even though finishing 7th on the day, secured enough points to take the season point championship for the A’s ahead of Doug Merrick and Gary MacGregor.
The B group was led home by 15 year old Ben Katerberg in 53:47. This is Ben’s fist year racing a bicycle and he just kept getting stronger every time out. His time was the 3rd fastest on the day, only beaten by the two team riders in the A Category. The future looks very bright for this young man. In second for the B group was Dave Opko from Texada, followed by local rivals Scott Fleming and Ray Wagner. Finishing 4th earned Ray enough points to claim the season title for the B’s ahead of Scott.
There were several new faces, or at least riders who had not regularly raced with the club, out to test themselves and endure the pain. One of those was Ron Cook who claimed the fastest time in the C category of 56:51. Two others were the father and son pair of Edmund and Josh Duncan, coming 3rd and 4th separated by only 2 seconds at the finish. Chris Bowman was 2nd across amongst the C’s and secured his position as the season point champion in C Category.
A big thanks to Karen Hoover for volunteering at every road race and time trial this year. Race director Richard Ellsay and wife Kelly for making all the races happen. Robin Parlee for volunteering at races and providing us with the unique Dynamic TT results page. Quality Foods for providing post race refreshment at all our races and all the other volunteers who helped out, without volunteers there would be no racing.